top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurLuis Leon

Why I "almost" quit Restaurants.

Hola my dear one, allow me to explain that "almost" first of all. I'm a chef and I'll always be, so, I also dream to have my own one.


That'll be, God helps, the day I'll be able to retire somewhere by the sea, where I can have my mango and avocado tree, few onions, coriander...the ocean to provide. Do my yoga in the morning, make ceviches or whatever is available for my few guests of the day.


Or in the middle of nowhere, next to a forest, with one cow to milk, a couple of hens, few trees... Surrounded by nature, without the need of buying my ingredients from whom no one knows what source...getting them from mother earth and being able to give back whatever leftovers I might produce through that process. Hakuna Matata, right?


But now, let's talk present time, shall we?


The reason why I made this move is that I lost faith in the industry. People open restaurants like popcorns can pop in a minute. I mean, is crazy. There's a lack of manpower, I mean, we can't produce enough professionals to supply the demand of the market, quality ingredients, and soon, in a few years from now on, the natural resources.

Don't you believe me? Is fine. Have you ever guessed how many liters of water are spoiled on the daily basis in the restaurant industry?

All these dishwashing machines, steamer pots, cooks that forget to defrost on time and they leave their food in a plastic bag under running water for hours...(this actually might be the scariest one. I mean, is something quite normal. I mean, let's don't kid ourselves, all of this will have consequences. Ain't normal.


And I don't wanna start talking about dirty plastic that for some ridiculous reason can't be recycled, glass, cans, and cardboard.


You can find yourself, for example, a chicken product, or a flour one, anywhere, anytime, 24/7 around the world. What kind of industry is this? We are poison and being poisoned because a demand must be supplied.

I can write about this for hours. Tomatoes out of season, salmons out of season fatted with hormones and antibiotics...did you know that salmon season is during June and July? Think about it. Chickens, pigs, cows, all kind of out of season veggies...


But anyway, I'm not here to bitter your experience but to share my point of view. It took me a while to realize and also tear down some walls, but, I basically decided, after 23 years in the industry, to work less, earn less and being my own restaurant.

Now I have 100% control over my ingredients, menus, and a total connection with my clients. Instead of throwing plates through a little window for people I will never speak with. I decide what goes on the plate, what kind of service, alcohol served and ambiance proposed.


Don't forget one thing, a restaurant is a place where people go to be restored.


Love,


Tigre


10 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page